NAV BASE

Home About Contact Policies Reviews Challenges Giveaways Image Map

The Cemetery Boys by Heather Brewer Book Review


When Stephen is forced to move back to the nowhere town where his father grew up, he’s already sure he’s not going to like it. Spencer, Michigan, is like a town straight out of a Hitchcock movie, with old-fashioned people who see things only in black-and-white. But things start looking up when Stephen meets the mysterious twins Cara and Devon. They’re total punks–hardly the kind of people Stephen’s dad wants him hanging out with–but they’re a breath of fresh air in this backward town. The only problem is, Cara and Devon don’t always get along, and as Stephen forms a friendship with the charismatic Devon and something more with the troubled Cara, he starts to feel like he’s getting caught in the middle of a conflict he doesn’t fully understand. And as Devon’s group of friends, who hang out in a cemetery they call The Playground, get up to increasingly reckless activities to pass the summer days, Stephen worries he may be in over his head.
Stephen’s fears prove well-founded when he learns of Spencer’s dark past. It seems the poor factory town has a history of “bad times,” and many of the town’s oldest residents attribute the bad times to creatures right out of an urban legend. The legend goes that the only way the town will prosper again is if someone makes a sacrifice to these nightmarish creatures. And while Stephen isn’t one to believe in old stories, it seems Devon and his gang might put a lot of faith in them. Maybe even enough to kill for them.
Now, Stephen has to decide what he believes, where his allegiances lie, and who will really be his friend in the end.


I've read one or two of Heather Brewer's books before and enjoyed them. I wasn't sure how much I would like this one, however, since it's a thriller/horror genre that I don't usually read. I actually didn't enjoy it as much as I would have hoped, but I did love getting to be emerged in Brewer's writing again. I really liked the descriptions and the pace of the book. If I had to pick a favorite thing about this book it would definitely be the writing or Spencer, the town. Spencer has character and while it might seem like the typical dreary, small town it has layers and legends that arise with time. The plot is interesting and I felt I was reading pretty quickly and I was excited to figure out the mystery of what exactly was going on and if these old stories were true or not. I did guess a pretty big part of the plot, but I don't think it took away too much from the story for me.

There are some interesting characters in Spencer. Then there's the group of kids that Stephan starts hanging out with. Some seem to be nice enough, the other seem to be completely loyal to Devon, to the point where they would follow his every command. Devon seems to be more than a little strange and threatening, while his sister, Cara,  seems alluring, easy to talk to, and beaten down by life just as much as Stephan has been. I liked Cara up to a certain point of the book, Stephan's rather bitter and unfeeling grandmother was a character I grew to like, and Markus or Stephan would have to be my favorite. While at some points I couldn't help wondering why Stephan did or didn't do something, when he could obviously pick up on hints that things weren't right...but then I guess he got wrapped up in everything pretty quickly.

Overall, I enjoyed the writing and Spencer was creepy and horrible in all the best ways. There were some interesting characters and the plot was exciting, even if I guessed some things. Horror/thriller isn't necessarily my thing but if I did read it more, I would be reading books like this where there are eerie superstitions and mysteries to be solved. Horror books that were interesting without being very scary or gory, basically. So if you want something that's a little in the middle (and are alright with the mini-cult going on) I'd advise you to check this one out, as Heather Brewer is a great author. I'm giving The Cemetery Boys 3 out of 5 flowers.




Sara Bennett, someone more likely to be found in bed, curled up with a good book, than out at a sports game or a gig (although she's pretty addicted to music too). Hoping for a better world, believing in her Savior, daydreaming of One Direction, hanging out with friends, or wherever she may be or might be doing....there's always a little voice inside wondering if it's almost time to return to the books sitting on her shelf. In short, an average young woman with a book in hand and a dream to write one day.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas Book Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through e
very lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

99 Days by Katie Cotugno Book Review


99 Days
Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that’s how I know everyone still remembers everything—how I destroyed my relationship with Patrick the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. How I wrecked their whole family. Now I’m serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college, and be done.
Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn’t finished. I’m expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it’s just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. “For what it’s worth, Molly Barlow,” he says, “I’m really glad you’re back.”
Day 12: Gabe got me to come to this party, and I’m actually having fun. I think he’s about to kiss me—and that’s when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who’s supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who’s never going to forgive me.

YallWest Event Recap and Giveaway


Hi everyone! About a week ago, I attended YallWest. The following is my recap of my experience, plus a giveaway.

Saturday:
My mom and I arrived at about 8:30 and joined the line of people waiting for YallWest to officially start. After picking up our tickets, we went to the EpicReads tent and lined up for the Spin The Wheel, where I ended up winning a copy of Made You Up by Francesca Zappia. Thank you so much to EpicReads! :)


Morgan Rhodes was signing on Saturday, which was such an amazing experience! I'm a huge fan of the Falling Kingdoms series and if you haven't yet read it, you definitely should :) Magnus and Cleo are everything <3


I also met Shannon Hale and attended the Once Upon a Retelling Panel, which featured her along with Melissa De La Cruz, Ally Condie, E.Lockhart, Danielle Paige, Marissa Meyer, and Elissa Sussman.

I went to the Red Queen signing and then there was a cupcake hour later in the day, where I received a copy of Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella. Following that, there was the YallWest Smackdown, which was hilarious :) 


Sunday
The first thing I attended was the signing for Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider, the author of The Beginning of Everything. I enjoyed The Beginning of Everything and I'm so excited to read her newest novel! Later in the day, I met Ava Dellaira, Maria Dahvana Headley, Katie Cotugno, Jennifer Niven, Nicola Yoon, and Morgan Matson.

The event was so much fun and thank you to all the authors, publishers, and volunteers who made it happen! I'm already looking forward to attending next year :)

Giveaway:
I ended up with extra copies of both 99 Days by Katie Cotugno and Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley, so I'm giving away the winner's choice between the two. This giveaway is US/CA only, due to shipping costs, but there's an international April New Release giveaway still happening here. Good luck! :)











a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Pretty App by Katie Sise Book Review


Poor Blake Dawkins! She's rich, she's gorgeous, and she's the queen bee of Harrison High. The girls want to be her; the boys want to—okay, enough said. But it turns out Blake’s life is not so perfect—just talk to her dad, who constantly reminds her that she's not up to par, or to her ex-bff, Audrey, who doesn't even look her in the eye.
Then Harrison—and every other high school in America—becomes obsessed with posting selfies on the ubiquitous Pretty App. Next: Leo, an adorable transfer student, arrives at Harrison and begins to show Blake that maybe being a queen bee doesn't mean being a queen bitch. And though Audrey suspects somebody’s playing foul, Blake finds herself catapulted to internet fame after being voted one of the prettiest girls in the country. She's whisked away to star in a reality show—in Hollywood, on live TV. But she doesn’t know who to trust. Because everybody on the show wants to win. 
And nobody is there to make friends.
The Boyfriend App author Katie Sise spins another irresistible tale of technology, secrets, and big-time romance in this story of what it takes to be #trulybeautiful.