NAV BASE

Home About Contact Policies Reviews Challenges Giveaways Image Map

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia Book Review

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar. Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn't she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal. Funny, provoking, and ultimately moving, this debut novel featuring the quintessential unreliable narrator will have readers turning the pages and trying to figure out what is real and what is made up.

All the Ways to Ruin a Rogue by Sophie Jordan Book Review

All the Ways to Ruin a Rogue (The Debutante Files, #2)There was once a lady who loathed a lord... 
Lady Aurelia hasn't always hated Max, Viscount Camden, her brother's best friend. In fact, as a besotted girl, she thrived under his kind attention – sure that he was the most noble and handsome man in the land. Until her young heart discovered what manner of rogue he really was. Now, though she enjoys nothing more than getting on his last nerve, she can’t deny Max drives her to distraction—even if she tries to pretend otherwise.
...and a lord who was confounded by a lady. 
Max cannot recall a time when Aurelia did not vex him. If she was not his friend’s sister, he would stay far away from the infuriating vixen. Unfortunately, they are always thrown together. At parties and family gatherings…she is always there. Infuriating him, tossing punch in his face, driving him mad...until one night, she goes too far and he retaliates in the only way he can: with a kiss that changes everything. 

Perfect Couple by Jennifer Echols Book Review


Perfect Couple is #2 in the Superlatives series about seniors at a Florida high school who are selected for their class's superlative categories in the yearbook, and how the labels change the way they view themselves and alter the course of their lives.
Can your heart be put to a popular vote?
As yearbook photographer, Harper is responsible for capturing those candid moments that make high school memorable. But her own life is anything but picture perfect. Her parents' bitter divorce has left her wondering what a loving relationship would look like. And ever since the senior class voted her and star quarterback Brody the “Perfect Couple That Never Was,” her friends have been on her case to ask Brody out.
Brody doesn’t lack in female admirers, but Harper can't see herself with him. He seems confused about why they were matched together, too. They’re total opposites—the last people in the world who would ever be compatible, let alone the “perfect couple.” Yet ever since the class paired the two of them, they've found themselves drawn together--first by curiosity, then by an undeniable bond.
The trouble is, though they're very attracted to each other and both of them admit this, they have a hard time getting along or even communicating clearly. If they’re the perfect couple, this shouldn’t be so difficult! Soon it becomes clear their class was wrong, and they throw in the towel. But after they walk away, both of them feel so changed from making the effort that they can’t forget each other. What if that means this match made in hell is the perfect couple after all?

Stacking The Shelves #73

Hi everyone! The following are all of the books I've acquired this week. One of my favorite indie bookstores was doing a huge book sale, so I picked up some books from that, along with a few other new releases :) Here's what I purchased:

*The top 4 books were only $8 total! :)

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab: I haven't seen a single bad thing about this book, and I'm really looking forward to reading it! I think this will probably be the first Victoria Schwab novel I pick up.

Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder: So many people are huge fans of Maria Snyder, so I'm excited to read Shadow Study.

Tin Star by Cecil Castellani: This one was a $1 and since the reviews for it were pretty good,  I figured I'd give it a try.

A Beautiful Wedding by Jamie McGuire: I have very mixed feelings about Beautiful Disaster, but I was curious enough to pick up the novella.

Skandal by Lindsay Smith: I have a weakness for autographed books, and Sekret is on my TBR. I'm hoping to read both books back to back eventually :)

Pretending to be Erica by Michelle Painchaud: Rachel really enjoyed this one, and the comparison to Heist Society sold me. 

Armada by Ernest Cline: I've heard fantastic things about Ernest Cline, and while I have an ARC of Armada that I picked up at ALA, I was so excited to see a signed finished copy for sale at the bookstore. I think I'm going to really enjoy this one, based on the synopsis and reviews :)

What did you get this week? I'd love to visit your Stacking The Shelves! :)