NAV BASE

Home About Contact Policies Reviews Challenges Giveaways Image Map

I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson Book Review

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell 
Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.
This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

First off, let me just say wow...I was really behind on this book. I think I ended up checking it out at least one time other before actually starting it. I had read several praising reviews so I figured it would be pretty good, but I'm quite disappointed in how late I am actually reading this book. I wish I had picked this book up sooner because it was amazing.

Exquisite writing, characters you fall in love with, and so many other things that make you fall in love with it. This book is a story that twists in and around itself and wraps you up in it so that you come out nearly two hours later feeling alive and so so happy. The thing about this book is that it's filled with lots of little, fascinating things and they end up (sometimes) becoming something bigger or tying into a joke and it's really amazing. I think the world-building, writing, plotting, characters....everything was just wonderful. I feel like nearly anyone would fall in love with this book, maybe not as much if you don't like the contemporary genre, but still. It's addicting and it feels like real life, but better. It's a wonderful world the author has created and it's made me want to pick up her debut book as soon as I can.

Speaking, I don't know....realistically or less freaking-out-and-shoving-it-down-your-throat-that-you-need-to-read-it-y, the characters are flawed and they have secrets tearing them apart, they're lost and adrift with their secrets. The way this story is told is so cool, Jude and Noah are twins and it's told in their POV, from Noah's when he was 13-14 and Jude's in the present day as a 16 year old. It's really inventive and a masterful way of storytelling. I didn't find it confusing as each section told in a different POV is generally long, so it's not like you're constantly switching between the two. Both Jude and Noah you fall in love with, so you don't even know whose side your on. They each have their own very unique personality and you can't help but think, wow they're so incredibly awesome! The whole book is really.

Overall, I almost wouldn't reread this book...and if I did I would wait at least a year or two. And it's not that I didn't love this book, because I did. It's because the way the story is told with mysteries being added onto, secrets that build up until they spill over, and you're almost learning it all with the characters. You're there gasping as a sudden turn of events and brimming with happiness, but then feeling your stomach drop the next chapter. It's a journey you go on with the characters, one you get helplessly sucked into and enjoy. Then at the end you're so satisfied and happy...and no matter how much I love the characters, I wouldn't want to remember what happens at the end fully. I'd want to go on the ride again, feeling the plummets and highs like the first time I read it. It's really a wonderful sort of book. I'm giving I'll Give You the Sun 5 out of 5 flowers.

Sara Bennett, someone more likely to be found in bed, curled up with a good book, than out at a sports game or a gig (although she's pretty addicted to music too). Hoping for a better world, believing in her Savior, daydreaming of One Direction, hanging out with friends, or wherever she may be or might be doing....there's always a little voice inside wondering if it's almost time to return to the books sitting on her shelf. In short, an average young woman with a book in hand and a dream to write one day.



Last to Know by Micalea Smeltzer Book Review



He was just a boy.And I was just a girl.But if that’s all there was to the story it wouldn’t be very interesting, would it? 
Up and coming band Willow Creek is back in their hometown for the summer. For the drummer, Maddox Wade, this summer was meant for writing music and playing gigs.
Falling in love was not part of the plan.
One look at Emma Burke and those plans cease to matter.
Emma is quiet and guarded. She’s still hurt from her father walking out two years ago. She doesn’t want to trust Maddox, but with his dark hair, smoldering good looks, and infectious smile he’s impossible to resist.
Together Maddox and Emma embark on an unforgettable summer of adventures and first love.Everything is perfect…or so Emma thinks.
There are things she doesn’t know, and when she finds out the truth it might shatter everything she’s built with Maddox.
No one said love was easy, and for Maddox and Emma it just might be impossible.
This is a Young Adult book. The following books in the series will be New Adult.

In the Time of the Dragon Moon by Janet Lee Carey Book Review

An epic fantasy about dragons, dark secrets, Pendragons, and magic
On the southernmost tip of Wilde Island--far from the Dragonswood sanctuary and the Pendragon Castle--live the native Euit people. Uma, who is half Euit and half English, and not fully accepted by her tribe, wants to become a healer like her Euit father. But the mad English queen in the north, desperate for another child, kidnaps Uma and her father and demands that he cure her barrenness. After her father dies, Uma must ensure that the queen is with child by the time of the Dragon Moon, or be burned at the stake.Terrified and alone, Uma reaches out to her only possible ally: the king's nephew Jackrun, a fiery dragonrider with dragon, fairy, and human blood. Together, they must navigate through a sea of untold secrets, unveil a dark plot spawned long ago in Dragonswood, and find a way to accept all the elements--Euit, English, dragon, and fairy--that make them who they are.


Top Ten Books On Our Summer TBR Piles


Hi everyone! For this week's Top Ten Tuesday, Marianne and I each picked five books that are on our summer TBR piles. Here are our picks:

Legacy of Kings (Blood of Gods and Royals, #1)The Heir (The Selection, #4)A Book of Spirits and Thieves (Spirits and Thieves, #1)The Heartbreakers (The Heartbreaker Chronicles, #1)The Boy Most Likely To
I love history, so a book that combines both fantasy and history to tell the story of Alexander the Great sounds incredible!

I wasn't a huge fan of The Selection series, but there's something about this series that's so addicting. I'm sure The Heir will be entertaining at the very least :)

The Falling Kingdoms series is incredible. If you haven't read it, you definitely should! This spin-off series seems so cool, and it'll tide me over until the release of Frozen Tides.

I really love boy bands, so this book seems adorable and right up my alley. My Life With the Walter Boys was such a cute read, too.

My Life Next Door is one of my all time favorite contemporaries, so I'm really excited that there's going to be more to the story. All I need now is a book about the hilarious George ;)


Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, #3)Every Last WordLast Year's MistakeThe Summer of Chasing MermaidsMagonia

 I’ve been procrastinating to read this book because once I read it I know I’ll have to wait an excruciatingly long time for the next one.  But I decided I’m just going to rip the band-aid off. ;) 

I loved her Time Between Us series (In fact it’s one of my all time favorites) so I can’t wait to see what she’s going to do next! 

The cover is so pretty! Not to mention it sounds like a great contemporary.

I need to read this book like I need air. First of all there’s a POC on the cover, secondly it’s written by SARAH FREAKING OCKLER, third of all? I can’t believe I still haven’t gotten to my Edelweiss arc. 

I don’t know what it is about this book. It sounds like a sci-fi, but also like a fantasy, also kind of paranormal… I don’t know what it is. But I know I want to find out.  



What books are on your summer TBR piles? We'd love to visit your Top Ten Tuesdays! :)




Jackaby by William Ritter Book Review

“Miss Rook, I am not an occultist,” Jackaby said. “I have a gift that allows me to see truth where others see the illusion--and there are many illusions. All the world’s a stage, as they say, and I seem to have the only seat in the house with a view behind the curtain.”

Newly arrived in New Fiddleham, New England, 1892, and in need of a job, Abigail Rook meets R. F. Jackaby, an investigator of the unexplained with a keen eye for the extraordinary--including the ability to see supernatural beings. Abigail has a gift for noticing ordinary but important details, which makes her perfect for the position of Jackaby’s assistant. On her first day, Abigail finds herself in the midst of a thrilling case: A serial killer is on the loose. The police are convinced it’s an ordinary villain, but Jackaby is certain it’s a nonhuman creature, whose existence the police--with the exception of a handsome young detective named Charlie Cane--deny.