NAV BASE

Home About Contact Policies Reviews Challenges Giveaways Image Map

Waiting on Wednesday: The Winner's Curse by Marie Rutkoski


In the tradition of Kristin Cashore and Cassandra Clare comes this brilliant, unputdownable, star-crossed romance about the curse of winning. Seventeen-year-old Kestrel is an aristocratic citizen of Valoria, a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers. Here, a girl like Kestrel has two choices: join the military or get married. Despite her skills in military strategy, Kestrel’s real passion is music.Which is why she feels compelled to buy Arin, a slave with a talent for singing, at auction. It’s not long before she finds herself falling in love with Arin, and he seems to feel the same for her. But Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for Arin is much higher than she ever could have imagined. Set in a new world, The Winner’s Curse is a story of wicked rumors, dirty secrets, and games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.


There are too many good things to say about this book. Seriously.

First of all, the cover is so beautiful, it brings me to tears! (Did you notice the girl is holding the "R"? I KNOW, RIGHT???)


 Secondly, let's just go over that first line again. "In the tradition of Kristin Cashore and Cassandra Clare." OH I could die of happiness. The synopsis sounds amazing and it's already getting some pretty solid reviews on Goodreads. Just about the only bad thing you can say about this book is that it doesn't come out until March 2014. But that's ok. I can be patient....relatively patient...sorta patient...who am I kidding...I NEED IT NOW!!! (please)

Oh hello there! My name is Emily, though some of you may know me as the Bookie Monster. As the name would suggest, I devour books like the Cookie Monster devours cookies. In my spare time, I like to bake cookies (and devour those as well) and dream about taking over the world. As if my book obsession wasn't life consuming enough,

I work in the children's room at my local library and I am currently a sophomore in college majoring in English. It's safe to say I'm a bit of a book fanatic. I discreetly shed a few tears on my eleventh birthday when I did not receive my Hogwarts acceptance letter and I waited seven hours outside in the rain just to get a good seat at the Hunger Games midnight premiere. I'm terrified of blood and Disney movies make me cry (in a good way). My passions include hippos, hugs, and Hans Zimmer…and uh,long walks on the beach. I'm just a normal girl w
ith a slightly abnormal and frightfully expensive obsession. Nice to meet you!


5 comments:

  1. Oooh lala! This cover is so gorgeous, *drools* And that synopsis just sounds insane, with it compared to Kristin Cashore and Cassandra Clare! Can't wait for this one, great pick!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Love the cover :) This sounds really good!

    Janina
    My WW!

    ReplyDelete
  3. This book seems to the favorite. The cover is gorgeous!!! great pick :D

    -Dannielle

    ReplyDelete
  4. I am really looking forward to this one!! It sounds fantastic! Great pick, Emily! :D

    My WoW post! 

    ~ Maida
    Literary Love Affair 

    ReplyDelete
  5. I hadn't heard of this one yet and now I'm very excited for it. Great pick!

    ReplyDelete

Hi! Thank you so much for commenting, I read each and every comment and love reading them :) Also, I'll comment back as soon as I can. Happy Reading!