NAV BASE

Home About Contact Policies Reviews Challenges Giveaways Image Map

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan Book Review

Uninvited (Uninvited, #1)
When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.
Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.
The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Source: Publisher via Edelweiss
Pages: 384
Release Date: January 28, 2014

The idea for Uninvited sounded so intriguing, and after reading and loving Foreplay, I was extremely excited to read this one! It's one of my new favorites and I'm already dying to read the next book.

Uninvited takes place a few decades from now, when homicides and mass shootings have become a major problem. As a solution, the government figured out a way to test people for a certain gene that shows them to be a future killer. This was such an interesting idea, especially because unfortunately, school shootings and other terrible things like this have happened. The people tested positive with this killer gene (HTS) have so much prejudice against them. The biggest question on my mind regarding this was whether or not this prejudice would exist and if it deserved to exist. A lot of these people with this gene were sociopathic and were capable of mass murder, despite there being a few exceptions, like Davy. 

Davy was a character I liked, and I felt so bad for what she went through. The people in the system were terrible, and I wish the treatment had just been a lot better. Her tumultuous emotions were so easy to understand. When Sean was first introduced, I wasn’t entirely sure whether or not I’d like the romance. By the end of the book, though, I was definitely convinced about their relationship. They made a pretty awesome team ;)

Another thing that I loved was the ending of the book. It didn't end with the usual cliffhanger that books in a series seem to have. I’m still super excited to read the next book, but I thought the ending was perfect for the story. I’d give Uninvited 4 1/2 out of 5 flowers. It’s a chilling, thought provoking read with an amazing romance included.

20 comments:

  1. Nice review. It also seems like a nice book, anyway.
    Would like to read it someday. :)))

    By the way, I'm Linda. ^^

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! I hope you get the chance to read it :)

      Delete
  2. I meed to read this, I am curious about the gene, it's a frightening one for sure. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  3. YAY MONTANA!!!! I absolutely adored this book as well, it was so fantastic. I have to admit to being a little wary of Sean at first too, I wasn't sure what kind of guy he was going to turn out to be, but I loved how their relationship unfolded and I was so rooting for them both by the end. Like you, I cannot wait for the sequel!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Agreed :) They made such a great couple in the end.

      Delete
  4. I def felt for Davy too and liked how their relationship formed, it was so awesome and I can't wait for the next one

    ReplyDelete
  5. I cant wait to read this. Great review!

    Have a great week! =)

    Following you on Bloglovin. Appreciate the follow back:

    Opinionated Cupcakes

    Rinny & Kimmy
    Opinionated Cupcakes

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for the follow :) I hope you enjoy it once you read it.

      Delete
  6. I keep seeing this book everywhere with good reviews. I guess I just need to read it! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Yay a review of this book from someone who has read Foreplay! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed this one as well, I have hopes of enjoying. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks :) Foreplay is one of my favorite new adult books for sure.

      Delete
  8. Waiting patiently for my copy. I hope it'll be here tomorrow. ;) You make it sound even more interesting.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Thanks for the review. A lot of people seem to have mixed thoughts on this one, so it's nice to see a fairly positive review. I am curious about the premise, so I do hope to read the book!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Nice and concise review and happy you liked it too, this for me is hands down the first book i finished in a day.... excited for the next one

    oh and do check out mine too here

    ReplyDelete

Hi! Thank you so much for commenting, I read each and every comment and love reading them :) Also, I'll comment back as soon as I can. Happy Reading!