NAV BASE

Home About Contact Policies Reviews Challenges Giveaways Image Map

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor Book Review


Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend's life-threatening illness.
Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.
Even when she isn't sure what to say.
Even when Olivia misses months of school.
Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia's crush.
The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.
In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

Maybe One Day sounded a lot like The Fault in Our Stars (which I haven't read). I generally don't like books about cancer but there was something about Maybe One Day that made me pick it up.

It had a slow and boring beginning, I'll admit. Nothing was going on and it had to be a bit after Olivia got leukemia that things finally got interesting. That should be somewhere around a third of the book. From there, I couldn't stop turning the pages! Zoe's emotions and turmoils sucked me in and I had an ache in my heart the whole time. Her passion (and hate) for dancing was a beautiful thing as well. It expressed her feelings and I feel like Zoe had to grow a lot as a person throughout the book. She had to learn to accept things and cherish what she has before they're gone.

The ending was amazing. I don't really have anything to say about it. I might've teared up a little bit. Some might not like the ending but I thought it was the perfect conclusion to this heart-wrenching novel.

Maybe One Day was an amazing novel. While I don't know how it would compare to The Fault in Our Stars, I would say give this a try and pick this up. I'd give it 4 out of 5 flowers.

My name's Ariella and I'm a 15 year old Canadian girl that loves to read. Everything began with a book called the Lightning Thief and from there I was hooked. I enjoy and read all kinds of genres but my favourites are paranormal and mythology. I love reading YA books but I love Middle Grade books as well. I also blog over at Secrets of Lost Words. You can usually find me crawling on twitter so feel free to contact me!

3 comments:

  1. Howwwwww have you not read The Fault In Our Stars????????????? Everything John Green is so amazing! Anyway, I will definitely be giving this book a try because it sounds really good!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've been hearing a lot of good things about this one lately! I didn't pay it much attention before - like you, I don't generally like books about cancer - but it sounds like it is worth checking out now. I'm glad that this stirred some emotions up in you, despite the slow start. Great review. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I haven't read The Fault in Our Stars yet either. I feel like I need to work myself up for emotional reads like this.

    ReplyDelete

Hi! Thank you so much for commenting, I read each and every comment and love reading them :) Also, I'll comment back as soon as I can. Happy Reading!