NAV BASE

Home About Contact Policies Reviews Challenges Giveaways Image Map

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings Review


An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna. Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision. The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family? Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

Pages: 400
Source: Edelweiss

    I don't know about you guys, but I'm getting a little tired with the dystopian genre. I never thought I would say it, but I can only read so many novels that offer a depressing view of the future before I start to feel a little depressed myself. That's why I was a little afraid to read this debut book by Lindsay Cummings. It sounds good, but this world is beyond depressing. Did you read the synopsis? More people die than are born! But in the end, I couldn't care less. I enjoyed this book anyway. 

     The best part of this book is how action-packed it is. The synopsis wasn't lying. You go from one thing to the next and more information keeps being revealed and you're on your toes the whole time and before you even know it, it's over. It's crazy. And it's so unpredictable! I had no idea where this book would go from the very beginning to the last page. Yeah. Don't even try to guess the big reveal! IT WILL STILL SURPRISE YOU! And I love the whole mystery aspect to this book. A mysterious organization. A mysterious, but potentially dangerous boy. And there's clearly more to Meadow than meets the eye. I knew something was going on under the surface, which made the entire novel so much more enjoyable and suspenseful!

     Here's the thing: I had a hard time relating to Meadow. And this could be a good thing or a bad thing. She was kind of scary honestly. She does remind me of Nikita (if you've ever seen that show) in that she can be so kind in one second, and the next she's killing someone and doesn't feel remorse whatsoever. That's what she's been trained to do. So there were times where I would read something and just be stunned and a little uncomprehending about why she had just done that. She's not like me and so I had a little trouble understanding her character. However, after finishing the book and looking back on Meadow, I realized if her attitude was any other way, it would have bothered me even more. I have not lived the kind of life Meadow has lived up to this point and I have no idea what it would be like to live in a society run by a Murder Complex, so it makes sense that I won't understand the way she thinks 100% of the time. In a way, she does need to be a little heartless at times. That's the only way she and her family will survive in such a desperate world.  

    I also enjoyed how the romance often took second place to the action. It would have made me so angry if they had so many complicated issues to sort out with their pasts and the society they live in, and instead they were just making out the entire time. That would've made me so mad. Yeah. You're gorgeous and you're nice and I really like you, but um, people are dying. So let's work on that first. K thanks. It's not to say that the romance was nonexistent, because believe me, there was. But it knew where it belonged in the book. 

     Overall, I was very pleased with this book. It was such an interesting debut and really sets us up for one heck of a series. It may not have made me obsessively gush about it for days afterwards, but it certainly caught me attention and I'll be on the lookout for the sequels. I didn't even know that there was a novella till yesterday's post, so I'll have to go read that one now!


Oh hello there! My name is Emily, though some of you may know me as the Bookie Monster. As the name would suggest, I devour books like the Cookie Monster devours cookies. In my spare time, I like to bake cookies (and devour those as well) and dream about taking over the world. As if my book obsession wasn't life consuming enough,

I work in the children's room at my local library and I am currently a sophomore in college majoring in English. It's safe to say I'm a bit of a book fanatic. I discreetly shed a few tears on my eleventh birthday when I did not receive my Hogwarts acceptance letter and I waited seven hours outside in the rain just to get a good seat at the Hunger Games midnight premiere. I'm terrified of blood and Disney movies make me cry (in a good way). My passions include hippos, hugs, and Hans Zimmer…and uh,long walks on the beach. I'm just a normal girl w
ith a slightly abnormal and frightfully expensive obsession. Nice to meet you!


6 comments:

  1. The beginning of your review had me nervous, I was afraid you hadn't liked this one. *whew!*
    I really did like this one and I loved how action packed and fast paced it was. So happy to see your 4 star review!
    Read the novella The Fear Trials if you haven't already, it is fabulous and adds a lot to the storyline. You learn a lot about Meadow and her family.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This one sounds so good! All the reviews I've read have enjoyed it and now I seriously want it!!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. i'm glad you enjoyed this one.. i liked it a little less than you because i thought the action part of the book wasn't really that action-y. As well as the romance.. wasn't a fan of that. Still, I enjoyed it overall :) great review

    - Juhina @ Maji Bookshelf

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've been pretty halfvsies on picking this one up. I want too, but I'm just not sure it's a "me" book. Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm getting tired of this genre fro the same reasons as you, but still dystopian books really know how to surprise me the most. I'm so happy you enjoyed this one at the end. Great review :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. There is no doubt that there are a lot of downers out there, and I usually like it in my books. Drama, gossip, scandal, disaster... all the things that I can't tolerate in my own life, but it is good to get a break too. I am glad that you liked this book even with it's heavy content. It sounds like a great read to me and I am adding it to my TBR. I love that the romance was in the foreground. I like my stories better like that anyway, but it certainly makes it more realistic with the other stuff that these characters have to deal with. Great review.
    -Flirting with Fiction

    ReplyDelete

Hi! Thank you so much for commenting, I read each and every comment and love reading them :) Also, I'll comment back as soon as I can. Happy Reading!