NAV BASE

Home About Contact Policies Reviews Challenges Giveaways Image Map

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas Book Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through e
very lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!




Before reading A Court of Thorns and Roses, I had only read Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. Despite not usually being a fan of fantasy, I ended up really enjoying Throne of Glass! Due to this, I knew I needed to read anything else she wrote (including the rest of the Throne of Glass series). I absolutely love fairytales and retellings, so A Court of Thorns and Roses seemed right up my alley. It’s now an all-time favorite and both the world and the characters are extremely well crafted. 

The writing style took me a little bit to get into, but once I did, I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. The plot of this novel was so much more than your average Beauty and the Beast retelling. It definitely incorporated a few elements from Beauty and the Beast, but the fairie aspect and the world itself added several new storylines and elements to the novel. Towards the end, there’s another myth that seems to start being incorporated as well. I’m extremely excited to see how that storyline will play out! 

The publisher’s letter mentioned lots of hot fairie men, and there were plenty of those ;) Tamlin is the “beast” Feyre stays with, and I liked him a lot. He was noble, kind, and there were some pretty amazing things he said to Feyre. The way he took care of her was something that I really enjoyed reading about. Despite that, Feyre definitely isn’t a weak heroine! I admired her strength so much. It’s clear that Maas excels at writing strong female protagonists. Her drive to protect her family, despite her family not seeming to appreciate it was so admirable. She had to make difficult decisions and choices throughout the novel, and the way she dealt with everything showed so much strength. There’s the beginning of a love triangle in ACOTAR, and I already know which guy I’ll be rooting for. All of the guys are pretty amazing, but there’s a particular character who I think would be best with Feyre. Lucien, Tamlin’s friend, was a truly hilarious character, too! He’s not a love interest, but all of his conversations were Feyre were so fun to read and hilarious! They had some pretty epic banter ;)

The world-building was done extremely well, with there being so much to the fairie world and its history. I’m curious to find out more about the world, especially considering all of the unanswered questions that remain. 

After the ending of this one, I can’t wait to see what the next book will have in store for Feyre and all of the aforementioned fairie men! ;) A Court of Thorns and Roses is easily one of my new favorite books, and fantasy reads, ever! I’d give A Court of Thorns and Roses 4.5 out of 5 flowers.

4 comments:

  1. Yay! Not that I doubted it, but it is nice to see that this was every bit as good as her YA series. I'm so excited to read it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. We pretty much felt the same about this one^^ my review for it just went up myself and reading your thoughts brought me right back into this lush world with it's amazing characters! SJM is freaking amazing, I think I loved her ToG books more - can't wait to see how you'll do with the rest of the series - but this one is right up there in my favorites as well :D I loved the world, Feyre, Tamlin, Lucien and Rhy and I can NOT wait to see how things will go for them in the sequels!! GORGEOUS review^^ I'm happy we both loved this so much ♥

    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews

    ReplyDelete
  3. I loved this one too!! So many hot fae *fans self* The setting and story were both so enchanting. The writing was fantastic, the plot was engaging. I can't wait for book #2. Awesome review <33

    ReplyDelete
  4. Everyone is reading this except for me :( I just want the copy to arrive soon.. The hype is crazy! I'm glad you could love it as well, I wasn't the biggest fan of her TOG series so here's to hoping I like this - your review has me excited :) Benish| Feminist Reflections

    ReplyDelete

Hi! Thank you so much for commenting, I read each and every comment and love reading them :) Also, I'll comment back as soon as I can. Happy Reading!