NAV BASE

Home About Contact Policies Reviews Challenges Giveaways Image Map

Swept Away by Michelle Dalton Blog Tour Stop



Beachfront love blossoms in this refreshing summer romance, in the tradition of Sixteenth Summer and Seventeenth Summer.
Mandy Sullivan isn’t exactly looking forward to the summer months as tourists invade her seaside hometown on the coast of Maine. Her best friend, Cynthia, has abandoned her for camp and her older brother just announced he’ll be staying at college taking classes for the summer, leaving Mandy with nothing to do and no one to hang out with. Hoping to keep herself busy, Mandy takes a volunteer job at the Rocky Pointe Lighthouse. On her very first day, Oliver Farmingham asks for a private tour. A new—and incredibly cute—face in Rocky Pointe, Oliver seems more interested in Mandy than the lighthouse and its history.
Without her best friend at her side, Mandy is scrambling to act the right way and say the right things when Oliver is around. Cynthia—not Mandy—has always been the confident, flirtatious girl that everyone wanted to be around. As Mandy and Oliver spend more time together exploring the coast, biking through the woods, and attending the local summer festivals, their budding friendship becomes much more. But with Mandy’s insecurities creeping to the surface, can she open her heart to someone who will only be in town for three months?


I’ve always been interested in reading the Sixteenth Summer novels, so I was happy to have the chance to read Swept Away! Although not a favorite, it still proved to be a light summer read.

The romance between Oliver and Mandy was cute. While I liked it, nothing about it particularly stood out to me. However, it was a good depiction of first love.

The entire novel was a cute summer read! I enjoyed reading about what Mandy working at the Historical Preservation Society led to and the fun traditions that were a part of the town she lived in. The cast of characters was interesting, and Swept Away definitely proved to be a light read.

I really enjoyed the setting of Maine. To be honest, I’ve never had any particular interest in visiting, but after reading Swept Away I do. I live in California so we have oceans here, but the coast of Maine described in Swept Away seems beautiful. The “Candy Cane” Lighthouse also seems like it’d be an amazing place to visit. Upon some Googling, I found out that it actually exists. A large part of the novel surrounds Mandy working and helping out with the lighthouse. It’s obvious the author really loves Maine :)

If you’re looking for a book to take with you to the beach, I’d recommend Swept Away! While the romance didn’t particularly stand out to me, it’s still a fun read :) I’d give it 3 out of 5 flowers.


As Swept Away made me think so much about summer and the fun that comes with it, I picked some of my favorite “summery” songs :)
-Summer Lovin’: Grease
-Surfin’ USA: Beach Boys (Although the characters don’t particularly surf, it still makes me think of summer)
-Saturday in the Park:Chicago
-Bubbly: Colbie Caillat (I think this definitely captures Mandy’s feelings about Oliver :)


 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg


Follow the Swept Away by Michelle Dalton Blog Tour and don't miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.




Michelle Dalton is one of the many names Carla Jablonski uses when writing. Her two YAs written as Carla Jablonski (published by Razorbill/Penguin), Thicker than Water and Silent Echoes, were included on the NYPL Books for the Teen Age list, and her graphic novel trilogy Resistance (illustrated by Leland Purvis, published by :01 Books) has won several awards, including the Sydney Taylor Silver Medal. In addition to writing novels she is an actor, playwright, and former trapeze artist. A native New Yorker, she is eternally grateful to her friends who invite her to their beach houses.





5 comments:

  1. I haven't heard of this series and while it does sound interesting summer books aren't usually for me. Still glad you enjoyed it. Great review :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. The covers are adorable for this series and it sounds like they aren't just a cute cover but a great story too! Lovely review. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. This book sounds so adorable!! I think I'll need to read this at the beach sometime :) Lovely review!

    Rachel @ A Perfection Called Books

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds like the perfect summer read, I think I'm getting more into fluffy novels. Thank you for the awesome review :) <3 Benish | Feminist Reflections

    ReplyDelete
  5. I haven't read this series, but this sounds like a sweet book!

    ReplyDelete

Hi! Thank you so much for commenting, I read each and every comment and love reading them :) Also, I'll comment back as soon as I can. Happy Reading!