NAV BASE

Home About Contact Policies Reviews Challenges Giveaways Image Map

I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson Book Review

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell 
Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.
This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.


First off, let me just say wow...I was really behind on this book. I think I ended up checking it out at least one time other before actually starting it. I had read several praising reviews so I figured it would be pretty good, but I'm quite disappointed in how late I am actually reading this book. I wish I had picked this book up sooner because it was amazing.

Exquisite writing, characters you fall in love with, and so many other things that make you fall in love with it. This book is a story that twists in and around itself and wraps you up in it so that you come out nearly two hours later feeling alive and so so happy. The thing about this book is that it's filled with lots of little, fascinating things and they end up (sometimes) becoming something bigger or tying into a joke and it's really amazing. I think the world-building, writing, plotting, characters....everything was just wonderful. I feel like nearly anyone would fall in love with this book, maybe not as much if you don't like the contemporary genre, but still. It's addicting and it feels like real life, but better. It's a wonderful world the author has created and it's made me want to pick up her debut book as soon as I can.

Speaking, I don't know....realistically or less freaking-out-and-shoving-it-down-your-throat-that-you-need-to-read-it-y, the characters are flawed and they have secrets tearing them apart, they're lost and adrift with their secrets. The way this story is told is so cool, Jude and Noah are twins and it's told in their POV, from Noah's when he was 13-14 and Jude's in the present day as a 16 year old. It's really inventive and a masterful way of storytelling. I didn't find it confusing as each section told in a different POV is generally long, so it's not like you're constantly switching between the two. Both Jude and Noah you fall in love with, so you don't even know whose side your on. They each have their own very unique personality and you can't help but think, wow they're so incredibly awesome! The whole book is really.

Overall, I almost wouldn't reread this book...and if I did I would wait at least a year or two. And it's not that I didn't love this book, because I did. It's because the way the story is told with mysteries being added onto, secrets that build up until they spill over, and you're almost learning it all with the characters. You're there gasping as a sudden turn of events and brimming with happiness, but then feeling your stomach drop the next chapter. It's a journey you go on with the characters, one you get helplessly sucked into and enjoy. Then at the end you're so satisfied and happy...and no matter how much I love the characters, I wouldn't want to remember what happens at the end fully. I'd want to go on the ride again, feeling the plummets and highs like the first time I read it. It's really a wonderful sort of book. I'm giving I'll Give You the Sun 5 out of 5 flowers.

Sara Bennett, someone more likely to be found in bed, curled up with a good book, than out at a sports game or a gig (although she's pretty addicted to music too). Hoping for a better world, believing in her Savior, daydreaming of One Direction, hanging out with friends, or wherever she may be or might be doing....there's always a little voice inside wondering if it's almost time to return to the books sitting on her shelf. In short, an average young woman with a book in hand and a dream to write one day.



5 comments:

  1. I'm glad to see that you really liked this one! I read it a while back and I loved it too. My favorite character was definitely Noah. Great review!
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    ReplyDelete
  2. Lovely review! I really loved this one too. I need to read Nelson's debut novel now!

    ReplyDelete
  3. So many people have loved this, glad you did too! I guess I probably should break down and read it huh? :P Wonderful review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've heard such great things. I have to add this higher on my list :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great review! This books sounds amazing. I will have to check it out.

    ReplyDelete

Hi! Thank you so much for commenting, I read each and every comment and love reading them :) Also, I'll comment back as soon as I can. Happy Reading!